A new surprise rose when working on a mac today.

When copying a folder to a location where a folder with the same name already exists, the only option is to replace the folder (and loosing all files from the replaced folder) or stop the copy/move operation.

1) We create the following folder structure:

2) We copy/move “Data” from the rootfolder to “Main” and receive a notification about an excisting item.

3) If your windows-minded, like me, you’ll assume that existing files/folders will be renamed/merged. Guess again.

4) Our “Main -> Data” folder is fully replaced with the Data folder from our root, which means that everything is removed.

I guess a simple merge option is not user-friendly….
sidenote:¬†Assumption is the mother of all fuck up’s

© 2012 Ceekes boarderline Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha